Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin Basics

"The Internal Revenue Bulletin (IRB) is the authoritative instrument for announcing official rulings and procedures of the IRS and for publishing Treasury Decisions, Executive Orders, Tax Conventions, legislation, court decisions, and other items of general interest." (IRS Website) "The last Bulletin for each month includes a cumulative index for the matters published during the preceding months. These monthly indexes are cumulated on a semiannual basis, and are published in the last Bulletin of each semiannual period.” (Introduction to IRBs)

Until 2008, "[t]he contents of this weekly Bulletin [were] consolidated semiannually into a permanent, indexed, Cumulative Bulletin." (IRS Website)

Types of documents that may be published in the IRB include:

  • Actions on Decisions
  • Announcements
  • Congressional committee reports / Bluebooks
  • Delegation orders
  • Executive orders
  • Notices
  • Proposed & final regulations/Treasury decisions
  • Public laws
  • Revenue rulings
  • Revenue procedures
  • Select court decisions

"Items published in the Internal Revenue Bulletin are . . . king of the IRS jungle and generally trump other IRS prouncements." (IRS Prouncements-Overview, 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA)

IRBscontain numerical finding lists towards the back of each issue.

 

      

    Abbreviations, Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin

    Below are pertinent abbreviations.

    • Internal Revenue Bulletin=I.R.B. or IRB
    • Cumulative Bulletin=C.B. or CB
        

      Sources of Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin

      Below are links to select sources offering the Internal Revenue Bulletin and/or Cumulative Bulletin.

      Citation, Internal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative Bulletin

      The following citation resources may be informative.

      • Bluebook, T 1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ("Cite Revenue Rulings, Revenue Procedures, and Treasury Decisions to the Cumulative Bulletin (C.B.) or its advance sheet, the Internal Revenue Bulletin (I.R.B.), or to Treasury Decisions Under Internal Revenue Laws (Treas. Dec. Int. Rev.), in that order of preference . . .")
      • IRM §  4.10.7.2.5.1, Citing the Cumulative Bulletin ("A citation to the Bulletin must include the year in parentheses at the end of the citation, as follows: S.S.T. 31, XV–2 C.B. 400 (1936). After 1936, a citation to the Bulletin is as follows: Rev. Proc. 71–4, 1971–1 C.B. 662. Revenue Procedure 71–4 is found at page 662, volume one of the 1971 Cumulative Bulletins (January – June, 1971) . . .")
      • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C, 3, IRS Rulings, Treasury Decisions, and Other Administrative Pronouncements

       

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip