LibGuides: Federal Tax Research: More Instruction on Tax Research

More Instruction on Tax Research Pages

Below are links to the pages located under the tab, "More Instruction on Tax Research."

Online Training

Below are links to online sources offering instruction in tax research.

Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CALI provides access to a robust collection of educational lessons and tutorials on the law written by law faculty to supplement traditional instruction.
In order to access the lessons, you must first register using an NYU Law CALI authorization code. Click on the key to obtain the code.
VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw provides in-depth knowledge and expertise from attorney specialists and experts in the areas of antitrust & competition law, banking & consumer finance, employee benefits, government contracts, intellectual property law, litigation law, pensions, products liability & insurance law, securities & corporate law, & tax law. It includes analytical content and explanations; curated primary sources with history lines and notes and a variety of CCH and Aspen Publishers titles; practical tools, news, webinars, white papers and blogs.

You can create a personal login to be able to save search history, create folders, save favorites, and make customizations by going here: http://proxy.library.nyu.edu/login?url=https://my.vitallaw.com/forced. These individual accounts last for one year for NYU Law patrons and need to be re-registered annually. You must use your NYU email address and registration must be done from an authorized IP address.
For account support email account-support@mercury.law.nyu.edu
Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint Edge is a comprehensive tax research system, encompassing federal, state, local and international tax primary and secondary materials. The Checkpoint platform provides access to a selection of RIA and Warren Gorham and Lamont publications including Federal Tax Coordinator, U.S. Tax Reporter, Journal of Taxation, Corporate Taxation, and Practical Tax Strategies.
You can create a personal login to be able to save search history be going here: http://proxy.library.nyu.edu:80/login?url=http://cpreg.thomsonreuters.com. These individual accounts last for one semester for NYU Law patrons and need to be re-registered each semester. You must use your NYU email address and registration must be done from an authorized IP address.
Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
The Tax Analysts platform includes access to Tax Notes Federal, Tax Notes State, Tax Notes International, Exempt Organization Tax Review, and Worldwide Tax Treaties, as well as other primary tax content. Tax Notes publications feature reporting, analysis and commentary.
If you're on campus, go here to create your account. If you're off campus email account-support@mercury.law.nyu.edu to set up your account. Include your NYU email and your expected graduation date in that email. Alternatively, if you're off-campus, you can register after being connected through the VPN.

Registration documentation
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law integrates primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news into one legal research system. A go-to resource for docket materials. Practice Centers include: Antitrust, Banking & Finance, Bankruptcy, Corporate, Health, Labor & Employment, Patents, Privacy & Data Security, Securities, Tax, Trademarks & Copyrights and others.
Passwords are provided to NYU Law faculty and currently-enrolled law students. Register for a Bloomberg Account by clicking the profile icon.
Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
Lexis Plus contains legal and law-related documents, including federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, administrative rulings, legislative histories, legal newspapers and journals, and looseleaf services.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw contains legal and law-related documents, including federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, administrative rulings, legislative histories, legal newspapers and journals, and general news.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.

If prompted for a Client ID, you may enter NYULAW or any text to continue.