Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Compiled Legislative Histories" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Compiled Legislative Histories Print Page
  Search: 
 

Compiled Legislative History Basics

A compiled legislative history gathers pertinent legislative information and/or documents for a piece of legislation or area of legislation. There are a number of compiled legislative histories relating to federal tax laws.

      

    Citation, Compiled Tax Legislative Histories

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook R. 13.6, Separately Bound Legislative Histories ("The legislative histories of several important acts are published separately (e.g., . . .  the Internal Revenue Acts . . . ). If it would aid the reader in locating the source, a parallel citation may be given to such a separate publication. . . . -> Internal Revenue Amendments, Pub. L. No. 87-834, § 15(a), 76 Stat. 960, 1041–42 (1962) (codified at I.R.C. § 1248(a) (2000)), reprinted in Joint Comm. on Internal Revenue Taxation, 90th Cong., Legislative History of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 , at 473–74 (1967).")
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, B5, Bound Legislative Histories
        

      Additional Instruction on Legislative History Research

      Below are links to sources offering instruction on legislative history research.

      Online Sources for Compiled Legislative Histories of Tax Laws

      Below are links to online resources offering compiled legislative histories covering federal tax laws.

      • Taxation & Economic Reform in America Parts I & II, 1781-2010, HeinOnline
        Compiled legislative histories include: Internal Revenue Acts of the United States, 1909-1950; Seidman's Legislative History of Federal Income and Excess Profits Tax Laws 1953-1939; Tax Reform 1986: A Legislative History of the Tax Reform Act of 1986: The Law, Reports, Hearings, Debates. . .; *Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997: A Legislative History of Pub Law No. 105-34.

      Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories (Not specific to Tax laws)

      Below are links to online sources offering compiled legislative histories on federal legislation. These sources are not focused on federal tax laws.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip