Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Floor Debates" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Floor Debates Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tax Floor Debates Basics

"Out of Committee, the bill goes to the floor of the House where the presiding officer 'reads the bill into the Congressional Record,' and, within the parameters set by the Rules Committee, opens the floor for debate. If there is debate, it is usually included in the Congressional Record . . ." (Floor of the House, Portfolio 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA)

"Analogous to the procedures in the House Chamber, once a bill is reported out of Senate Finance, it goes to the floor of the Senate where the Senate votes on whether to approve the bill, provided it is not filibustered or withdrawn. As in the House, debates usually are recorded in the Congressional Record . . ." (Floor of the Senate, Portfolio 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA)
      

    Citation, Tax Floor Debates

    Pertinent citation resources may include the following.

    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, B6, Congressional Record
    • Bluebook 13.5, Debates
        

      Abbreviation, Tax Floor Debates

      Below is a pertinent abbreviation.

      • Congressional Record=Cong. Rec.
          

        Additional Instruction on Legislative History Research

        Below are links to sources offering instruction on legislative history research.

        Sources of Tax Floor Debates

        Below are links to a selection of online resources offering current and former congressional reports relating to federal taxation.

        Sources of Floor Debates (Not Specific to Tax Law)

        Below are links to a selection of online resources offering floor debates. (These sources are not limited to debates on tax legislation.)

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip