Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Proposed Regulations" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Proposed Regulations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Proposed Tax Regulations Basics

"Generally, regulations are first published in proposed form in a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM)." (IRS website) Proposed regulations are published in the Federal Register and in the Internal Revenue Bulletin.

"Proposed regulations provide guidance concerning Treasury’s interpretation of a Code section. The public is given an opportunity to comment on a proposed regulation and a public hearing may be held if a sufficient number of requests to speak at a hearing are received. . ." (Classes of Regulations, IRM § 4.10.7.2.3.3)

As per the Bluebook citation quoted below, citations to IRS tax regulations often do not include a reference to the pertinent CFR title (title 26). The CFR title number is replaced with "Treas. Reg." or "Prop. Treas. Reg."

      

    Citation, Proposed Tax Regulations

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook T 1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ( "Although Department of Treasury regulations are published under title 26 of the C.F.R., cite as <Treas. Reg.>. . . .Cite proposed Treasury regulations to the Federal Register. > Prop. Treas. Reg. § 1.704-1, 48 Fed. Reg. 9871, 9872 (Mar. 9, 1983).")
    • Bluebook R. 14, Administrative and Executive Materials
    • IRM § 4.10.7.2.3.6, Citing the Regulations ("The first division is the CFR part number and indicates the subject of the regulation. The part number appears before the decimal point in a citation . . .The numbers immediately after the decimal point refer to the Code section to which the regulations apply . . .The section number of the regulation is separated from the Code section by a hyphen . . .")
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C.1, Treasury Regulations
        

      Additional Instruction on Federal Regulatory Research

      Below is a link to a source offering instruction on federal regulatory research:

      Sources of Proposed Tax Regulations

      Below are links either to sources offering proposed regulatory material on tax topics.

      Sources of Proposed Regulations

      Below are links either to sources offering proposed regulatory material--specifically sources offering the Federal Register, where proposed regulations are published. These sources are not focused on tax regulatory material.

      Warning: Researchers should independently verify the currency of any proposed rule.

      Abbreviations, Proposed Regulations

      Below are pertinent abbreviations.

      • Code of Federal Regulations=C.F.R.
      • Federal Register=Fed.Reg.
      • Treasury Decision=T.D. or TD
      • Treasury Regulation=Treas.Reg.
          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip