LibGuides: Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: Multi-jurisdictional Sources

Multi-jurisdictional Databases/Portals/Websites

The resources on this page may provide the texts, summaries or citations of laws. Check each source to see which countries it covers. Language may be vernacular or English. If English is not an official language of the country, do not assume that an English text is authentic or official. This list is intended as a starting place and is not comprehensive. Please note that inclusion of a link to a website or to other material in this guide should not be interpreted as an endorsement of the accuracy or currency of the website or the material.

See also the sources listed under Getting Started in this guide.

African LII: African Legal Information Institute
Contains primary and secondary sources various national juridictions in Africa, as well as the decisions of regional human rights tribunals.
Bloomberg Law
All Content: Global Law. Limited content from Canada, EU, UK, Hong Kong, UAE, Cayman Islands, and Jersey.

CariLaw This link opens in a new window
With exact replica reproductions of the original judgments and indexed and cross-referenced judgments, vLex Justis is an essential resource for Caribbean case law. To search Caribbean content, use the Advance Search to select the relevant jurisdiction(s). n.b. Years of coverage may vary by jurisdiction.

Jurisdiction: Bahamas; Barbados; Bermuda; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Dominican Republic; Jamaica; Montserrat; Puerto Rico; Saint Lucia; St Kitts and Nevis; St Vincent & the Grenadines; Trinidad and Tobago; Turks and Caicos Islands; Anguilla; Belize; Cuba; Dominica; Grenada; Guyana; Netherlands Antilles

Droit Afrique
Website that contains business-oriented primary source legal materials for a variety of french-speaking African countries.
Foreign Law Translations
Site for English translations of some French, German, Austrian and Israeli legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law. The English translations of decisions from Germany and France include cases from the Reichsgericht, the Bundesverfassungsgericht, the Bundesgerichtshof, the Conseil Constitutionnel, the Conseil d’Etat and the Cour de Cassation.
Global Regulation, Global-Regulation, Inc.
Regulations, secondary legislation, technical standards.
JURICAF
Juricaf is a Francophone database for researching case law in over 42 countries. Developed with the help of the International Organisation of la Francophonie, Juricaf has for objective to help Supreme Courts in Africa to publish their case law.
JutaLaw
Subscription includes access to law from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Tanzania and Zambia. IP-Access for NYU Law users; access NYU Law subscription through Julius link above.
Lexis Advance, Explore Content, International
Primary law for these jurisdictions: South Africa, Australia, China & Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand, Russia, European Union, Ireland, United Kingdom, Canada, & Mexico
Multi-jurisdictional e-Resources, NYU Law Library
Multinational Sources Compared: A Subject and Jurisdiction Index, HeinOnline
Directs researchers to print and online sources that compare multiple jurisdictions on focused subjects. These sources might contain full-text legislation, statutory citation, or other references to primary law.
N-Lex, EUR-Lex, European Union
A common search form and gateway to databases on national law for European Union member countries and non-EU countries.
RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Offers full-text access to the tax and business laws of many jurisdictions in English. From the home page, click on the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries are arranged in alphabetic order.
SAFLII
The Southern African Legal Information Institute. Includes law from Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
United Nations Legislative Series
Each volume surveys materials on a topic in international law, including national laws. Best for historical research.
Westlaw, International Materials
Primary and/or secondary source materials for these jurisdictions: Barbados, Cayman Islands, China, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland and Taiwan.
Westlaw Middle East
Primary source content includes the legislation and cases from the United Arab Emirates, as well as the business laws of Kuwait, Qatar, Lebanon and Saudi Arabia. Contains some secondary sources, most focusing on the United Arab Emirates.
World Constitutions Illustrated, HeinOnline
WorldLII, World Legal Information Institute

Multi-jurisdictional Journals

Latin American Law Review
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online
Multidisciplinary open-access journal database that includes legal journals, primary from Latin America. Most are in the vernacular, although there are often English translations of titles and abstracts.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals is a multilingual index of articles in legal journals, festschrifts, and essay collections published worldwide. Coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and law of all jurisdictions excepting US., the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
Jurisdiction: Global (varies)