LibGuides: Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: France

Best Bets

Dalloz This link opens in a new window
Dalloz is a database of French codes, encyclopedias, legal commentaries, and cases (all courts).
Once authenticated with your NYU Home credentials, you should then see 'NEW YORK UNIV SCHOOL OF LAW' and content will be available. Navigate to Documentation -> Revues for full-text access to Dalloz Revues.
Note: NYU subscription excludes some content.

Jurisdiction: France
Dalloz Revues This link opens in a new window
Dalloz Revues is a database of specialized French legal journals.
Once authenticated with your NYU Home credentials, click 'Connexion' at the top-right of the Dalloz page. You should then see 'NEW YORK UNIV SCHOOL OF LAW' and content will be available.
Note: NYU subscription excludes some content.

Jurisdiction: France
Doctrinal This link opens in a new window
Le Doctrinal is a legal research database for France. Its library of case law (jurisprudence) includes decisions from France’s Conseil Constitutionnel, administrative tribunals, and appellate courts, in addition to decisions issued by the European Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights. Its collection of legislation (textes de loi) includes laws of both France and the European Union. A historical legislation comparison tool is also available. Regarding secondary materials, it indexes more than 500 legal periodicals (revues). Its content and user interface are entirely in French.

Jurisdiction: France
Lextenso This link opens in a new window
Lextenso offers an extensive database of French legal journals and jurisprudence in the vernacular.

Jurisdiction: France

French Law Databases

Base Pacte
Contains all French multilateral and bilateral treaties and agreements in French
Conseil Constitutionnel (Constitutional Council)
See full text Decisions du Conseil Constitutionnel (Constitutional Council) as well as the doctrine involved. Constitutional cases in English in relevant areas such as treaties and international agreements, EU, abortion, human rights, etc.
Dalloz
- This link opens in a new window
Database of codes, legal journals, encyclopedias, legal commentaries, cases (all courts). Click on key icon and scroll to Dalloz for login information.
Doctrinal
An index to French legal literature prepared by the law firms of Berlioz, Shearman & Sterling.
Foreign Law Translations
Multi-jurisdictional site for English translations of legal primary sources, including coverage of France. Materials come from the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law. Translated decisions come from the Conseil Constitutionnel, the Conseil d’Etat and the Cour de Cassation.
Gazette du Palais l'actualite du droit
Legal news. Fil du Net publishes legislative news with links to the original documents.
Global-Regulation
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of France. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
IATE - InterActive Terminology for Europe
The EU's inter-institutional terminology database and translator.
Institute of Transnational Law - Foreign Law Translations
Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.
Juriscom.net
An index to daily changes to the laws. Includes French legal news. It provides cyberspace laws in French for the Canadian and French jurisdictions. Cases summaries (French and Canadian) pertaining to the law of the Internet.
Jurisprudence - Legalis
Protection des droits de propriété intellectuelle, contrefaçons, règlement des litiges et arbitrage sur Internet (copyright issues).
Legifrance
The governmental portal to French law on the Internet, with a very user-friendly access to the legislation, regulations and case law, directly or through many links to other public websites such as the Parliament, the Court of Appeal or the State Council. Translations of French acts is one of the features of Legifrance. At the beginning, thirty codes are offered in English and in Spanish; many other translated codes and statutes will follow.
Legimobile
Legislation, jurisprudence, collected conventions.
Legislationline, OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights
Contains English translations of France's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and variety of human rights oriented legislation.
Le Journal Officiel
Sommaires Analytiques for the last five days. The site makes available a graphic reproduction of the Lois and Decretes (TIFF images).
Lex Electronica
An online journal about the laws of the electronic environment in French and English.
Lextenso
Extensive database of French legal journals and jurisprudence. NYU Law users can get access either through law library IP-authentication or by setting up an account using their nyu.edu email address.
Ministère de la Justice (Ministry of Justice)
Database contains all legal news and has an excellent legal dictionary (glossaire juridique).
RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Use the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries arranged in alphabetic order. Includes the full text of the tax and commercial law of France in English.
Service-Public.fr
Administrative database. The official gateway to the French civil service. The site has practical guides classified by theme, a civil service directory and public web sites directories, links to texts of laws, and public reports. Interfaces in German, English, and Spanish.
Westlaw, International Materials
Contains English translations of the Civil and Commercial Codes.

French Law Research Guides

Update: Researching French Law, GlobaLex
By Stéphane Cottin and Jérôme Rabenou
Guides Cujas, Bibliotheque Cujas
In French. Les sources juridiques électroniques; Guide des sources juridiques: législation, jurisprudence, doctrine (support imprimé)

French Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map) and Reserve, with call numbers beginning with KJV and KJW (individual regions).

Sources may be in the vernacular or in English. Some popular translations are: