This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
English translations of statutes on a reliable, though un-official, government website. Also includes a dictionary and keyword-in-context tool for more efficient English keyword searching.
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Japan. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
English translations of statutes on a reliable, though un-official, government website. Also includes a dictionary and keyword-in-context tool for more efficient English keyword searching.
Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator, National Institute of Informatics. CiNii Articles searches the journals in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database, with some full text available. CiNii Books searches books and journals held by university libraries in Japan.
Useful for locating articles (as well as theses and dissertations) . The IRDB searches across the various institutional repositories of Japanese universities.
Indexes 14,000 periodicals published in Japan after World War II and 6000 volumes of collected works. This database is only accessible to current NYU students, staff and faculty.
Includes non-law materials. Under No registered user ID, click on Use only search function (Guest Login--no full-text). The Articles tab allows searching in the journals indexed by the Japanese Periodicals Index. Advanced Search searches various types of publications, including books, articles, journals, and newspapers.
