Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indian Law Databases
Contains Supreme Court cases, acts, rules, forms, and sample agreements.
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of India. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
The official database of the Legislative Department of the Ministry of Law and Justice. Contains all statutes enacted by the Parliament, central acts, ordinances, regulations, etc.
Contains all reportable judgments of the Supreme Court of India and other regional courts from 1950-present, acts and headnotes for the judgments through 1993.
Legal Information Institute of India (LII of India)
LII of India at present has 50 databases, including over 300,000 decisions from 37 Courts and Tribunals, Indian national legislation from 1836, over 800 bilateral treaties, law reform reports and about 500 law journal articles. The LawCite citator tracks case and journal article citations.
Lok Sabha (House of the People)
Contains rules, bills, policies and publications.
Rajya Sabha (House of the States)
Contains debates, legislation, rules, etc.
SCC Online Web Edition
Comprehensive database, including laws, consolidated laws, cases of the federal and high courts, and law journal articles. Also includes cases from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa and West Africa. Login using your NYU email address. To retrieve cases from countries besides India or to retrieve Indian acts and statutes, use the Word Search function.
Supreme Court of India
Links to JUDIS and Indian Courts. Original, appellate and advisory jurisdiction. Its exclusive original jurisdiction extends to any dispute between the Government of India and one or more States or between the Government of India and any State or States. Article 32 of the Constitution gives an extensive original jurisdiction to the Supreme Court in regard to enforcement of Fundamental Rights.
Indian Law Research Guides
Indian Law in the Library
Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNS.