Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
South African Law Databases
Full text database of all Constitutional Court cases. Documents available for viewing, printing or downloading include full judgments, summaries of judgments highlighting the main questions of law decided in each case as well as heads of argument, pleadings and documents. It includes information about the Court's history, its role and work, landmark judgments and the constitution-making process.
Human Sciences Research Council Press
South Africa's open access publisher committed to the dissemination of high quality social science research based publications, in print and electronic form. Many recently published books are available at this site for free download--one can download a table of contents, an index, a chapter or an entire book. One can browse all titles (alphabetically); browse by category (such as: "Religious Studies"; "Securities Studies"); or use the search feature. Because there is no "Law" category to browse, you might wish to use the search feature. Newly published titles are also highlighted on the main page of this website.
Index to South African Periodicals
Online entries date back to 1942. The database contains indexed articles from more than 680 South African periodicals.
Subscription includes access to law from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Tanzania and Zambia. IP-Access for NYU Law users; access NYU Law subscription through Julius link above.
Laws of South Africa - Consolidated Legislation, University of Pretoria
Contains current "in force" and consolidated (as amended) Acts of Parliament, point-in-time and historic texts of Acts, plus regulations. Acts and regulations are PDF and constantly updated. Regulations not in full text may be requested. The project is the work of the Oliver R. Tambo Law Library, University of Pretoria, in partnership with the Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) and the Constitutional Court. The database is a work in progress and does not contain all Acts yet.
Lexis Advance, International tab, South Africa
South Africa Tax Cases (not current), Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports and Butterworths Statutes of South Africa (not current). See Source Information notes for coverage.
The German-South African Lawyers Association
Provides a wide variety of legal links on South Africa, i.e. government, court, academic and NGO websites relating to South African law.
The South African Cyber Treaties Series
Provides a comprehensive and up to date list of treaties South Africa has entered into, with, where possible, links to full text versions, as well as to ratification information.
The treaty series is based primarily on the United Nations Multilateral Treaties, and is arranged according to the categories found in the United Nations Treaty Series. Several additional topics, e.g. intellectual property and civil aviation, have also been included.
South African Law Research Guides
South African Law in the Library
Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KTL.