Skip to main content

Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: Peru

This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.

Outline

Foreign Law Research Outline

To navigate this guide, use the tabs and dropdown tabs above or the links below. The law of individual countries is arranged alphabetically in the tabs and subtabs.

For more assistance, please visit or contact the NYU Law Library Reference Desk

Databases

This guide provides links to a variety of databases, several of which are limited to NYU Law faculty and students. Information for NYU Law students and faculty on obtaining passwords for WestlawNext, Lexis Advance and Bloomberg is available here

Language of the sources listed in this guide may be vernacular or English. If English is not an official language of the country, do not assume that an English text is authentic or official. This guide is intended as a starting place and is not comprehensive. Please note that inclusion of a link to a website or to other material in this guide should not be interpreted as an endorsement of the accuracy or currency of the website or the material. 

Credit

Foreign law pages created and edited by Mirela Roznovschi from 1996-2013.

Updated and migrated to LibGuides by Scarlett Taylor. Edited by Scarlett Taylor and Andy Stamm, 2013-2015.

Edited by Sarah Jaramillo, 2016-. 

Getting Started

How to Research Foreign Law

For a general strategy and places to start, see:

Overview of Foreign Legal Systems

If you'e research a jurisdiction for the first time, it 's essential to get a sense of how its legal system is organized and what its hierarchy of authority is. The sources listed below provide this information, as well as titles of specific legal publications, e.g., code, case reporter, official gazette:

Catalog Searching Tips

For the title of a specific legal publication, you can also search a library catalog with keywords from your topic combined with these subjects:

  • law [country]
  • law reports, digests, etc. [country] 
  • constitutions or constitutional law [country]
  • delegated legislation [country]
  • [subject] law [country], e.g., constitutional law Brazil

If you're searching for a non-English or non-Roman alphabet title in our catalog, here some tips:

  • Find the ISBN or ISSN using Google or Worldcat. Then, search the catalog by that ISBN/ISSN number. This approach will give you certainty as to whether or not NYU Law Library has that particular title.
  • Non-Roman alphabet titles (e.g. Hebrew, Russian, Chinese, etc.) are transliterated in Julius. So, search for non-Roman alphabet titles using Roman alphabet characters. Use Worldcat or Google to help you figure what the transliterated title is.  
  • If you don't have a way to input non-English letters that are not on the standard English keyboard, here are few search tips:
    • Try to the find the titles in Google or Worldcat and cut and paste them into the search. 
    • You can also use the symbol insert option in Microsoft Word to type out the title and then cut and paste it 
    • Add the keyboard langauge to your computer (Windows 7 instructions)
      •   Start menu > Control Panel > Region and Language > Keyboards and Languages tab > Change keyboards...> Add
      • Then use the on-screen keyboard to type the non-English language title: Start Menu > All Programs > Accessories > Ease of Access >  On-Screen Keyboard > Left alt + shift to switch the keyboard from English to the one you just added. 

Multi-jurisdictional Sources

Multi-jurisdictional Databases/Portals/Websites

The resources on this page may provide the texts, summaries or citations of laws. Check each source to see which countries it covers. Language may be vernacular or English. If English is not an official language of the country, do not assume that an English text is authentic or official. This list is intended as a starting place and is not comprehensive. Please note that inclusion of a link to a website or to other material in this guide should not be interpreted as an endorsement of the accuracy or currency of the website or the material.

See also the sources listed under Getting Started in this guide. 

Subject-specific Sources

Texts, summaries or citations of subject-specific laws

The resources on this page may provide the texts, summaries or citations of laws on the subjects listed below. Check each source to see which countries it covers. Language may be vernacular or English. If English is not an official language of the country, do not assume that an English text is authentic or official. This list is intended as a starting place and is not comprehensive. Please note that inclusion of a link to a website or to other material in this list should not be interpreted as an endorsement of the accuracy or currency of the website or the material.

See also the sources listed in the next box and the pages for specific countries in this guide.

Antitrust & Competition

Arbitration

Business, Commercial, Finance, Trade, & Investment

Codes from Civil Law Countries

Criminal Law

Family Law

Food, Agriculture & Renewable Resources

Human Rights

See Documents, legislation & cases, generally in the International Law: Specialized Sources research guide.  

Legal recognition of same-sex relationships

Regulations, secondary legislation, technical standards

Trade & Investment

Texts, summaries or citations: various subjects & countries

Constitutions

Constitutions

Constitutions Research Guides

A-E

A-E Jurisdictions Pages

Afghanistan

Afghan Law Databases

Afghan Law Research Guides

Albania

Albanian Law Databases

Albanian Law Research Guides

UPDATE: A Guide to Researching the Albanian Legal System, GlobaLex by Mbaresa Veleshnja Gentry and Engjellushe (Angel) Kozeli Mozina. 

Algeria

Databases

Research Guides

Argentina

Argentine Law Databases

Argentine Law Research Guides

A Research Guide to the Argentine Legal System, GlobaLex by Dr. Ernesto Nicolás Kozameh, Prof. Eng. Julio O. Trajtenberg, C.P. Nicolás Kozameh Jr., Ezequiel Trajtenberg

Argentine Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHA.

Armenia

Armenian Law Databases

Armenian Law Research Guides

UPDATE: A Legal Research Guide to Armenia, GlobalexBy Sergey Arakelyan and Anna Margaryan, 2010. 

Australia

Australian Law Databases

Australian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KU.

Austria

Austrian Law Databases

Austrian Law Research Guides

The Austrian Legal System and Laws: a Brief Overview, GlobaLex by Johannes Oehlboeck and Immanuel Gerstner

Austrian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map) with call numbers beginning with KJJ.

Bangladesh

Bangladeshi Law Databases

Bangladeshi Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KUQ.

Belgium

Belgian Law Databases

Belgian Law Research Guide

Belgian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KJK.

Bermuda

Bermuda Law Websites & Databases

Bermuda Law Research Guides

Brazil

Brazilian Law Databases

Brazilian Law Research Guides

Brazilian Search Engines

Brazilian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHD.

Bulgaria

Bulgarian Law Databases

Bulgarian Law Research Guides

Canada

Canadian Law Databases

Canadian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KE.

Cayman Islands

Caymanian Law Websites & Databases

Caymanian Law Research Guides

Chile

Chilean Law Databases

Chilean Law Research Guides

Chilean Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHF.

China

Chinese Law Databases

NOTE: Please, use Internet Explorer for Chinese databases!

Chinese Law Research Guides

A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC), LLRX by Joan Liu and Wei Luo

Finding Chinese Law on the Internet, GlobaLex by Joan Liu

Lee, Zhang, Okuhara, & Ma, Issues and Trends in Collection Development for East Asian Legal Materials, 105 Law Library Journal 321 (2013). PDF. This article includes a survey of the main print and electronic sources for Korean, Japanese and Chinese law.

Chinese Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNN and KNQ.

Colombia

Colombian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHH.

Costa Rica

Costa Rican Law Databases

Costa Rican Law Research Guides

Costa Rican Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KGB.

Croatia

Croatian Law Databases

Croatian Law Research Guides

The Croatian Legal System, GlobaLex by Dunja Kuecking and Milivoje Žugić

Croatian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKZ.

Denmark

Danish Law Databases

Danish Law Research Guide

Researching Danish Law, GlobaLex by Rasmus H. Wandall and Ditlev Veit

Danish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KJR.

England/United Kingdom

British Law Databases & major sources

Updating English law

For additional guidance on updating English law, especially "noting up" cases by using classic print sources, see Stephen E. Young, "Shepardizing®" English Law, 90 Law Libr. J. 209 (1998)

British Treaty Sources

British Law Research Guides

A Guide to the UK Legal System, GlobaLex by Sara Carter and Hester Swift

Finding English Law: Quick Access to Key Titles (2d ed.) by John Eaton
Describes English law in 97 areas, with lists of leading texts on each topic. 

Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations by Donald Raistrick

Scottish Legal History, GlobaLex by Yasmin Morais

Scottish Legal Research, by Mindy Kent. 

British Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning as follows:

KD: England and Wales: Includes English Reports, and earlier volumes of the Law Reports Statutes, Halsbury's Statutes of England, the Statutory Instruments, Halsbury's Laws of England, and the Law Reports. See left-hand box on this page for current online sources. 

KDC : Scotland

KDE : Northern Ireland

KDG : Isle of Mann, Channel Islands

Eritrea

Eritrean Law Databases

Estonia

Estonian Law Databases

Estonian Law Research Guides

Estonian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KJS.

Ethiopia

Ethiopian Law Databases

F-K

F-K Jurisdictions Pages

This contains foreign legal research links for jurisdictions starting with the letters F through K:

Finland

Finnish Law Databases

Finnish Law Research Guides

Finnish Law on the Internet, GlobaLex by Sami Sarvilinna and Erika Bergström

Finnish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KJT.

France

French Law Databases

French Law Research Guides

French Law on the Internet - The Basics and Free Resources, GlobaLex by Emmanuel Barthe

Guides Cujas, Bibliotheque Cujas - Les sources juridiques électroniques; Guide des sources juridiques: législation, jurisprudence, doctrine (support imprimé)

Researching French Law, GlobaLex by Stéphane Cottin and Jérôme Rabenou

French Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map) and Reserve, with call numbers beginning with KJV and KJW (individual regions).

Georgia

Georgian Law Databases

Georgian Law Research Guides

Germany

German Law Databases

German Law Research Guides

German Law Archives

German Law Archive at the The Comparative Law Society.
This site is dedicated to publishing cases, statutes, literature and bibliographies on German law in English. Judgments and other decisions by German courts; Statutes: Acts of Parliament and statutory instruments; Literature on German law.

Document Supply Services and Libraries:
Subito-Library Delivery Service
For articles and books. Some documents can be delivered via email.
Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog
Offers a powerful search engine for library catalogs.

German Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KK.

Haiti

Databases/Websites

Research Guides

In the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KGS.

Hong Kong

Hong Kong Law Databases

Hong Kong Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNR.

Hungary

Hungarian Law Databases

Hungarian Law Research Guides

Hungarian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKF.

India

Indian Law Databases

Indian Law Research Guides

Guide to Indian Laws, GlobaLex by V. Ramakrishnan

A Guide to India’s Legal Research and Legal System, GlobaLex by Dr. Rakesh Kumar Srivastava

India Legal Research Guide, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison Law Library by Sunil Rao 

Indian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNS.

Iran

Iranian Law Databases

Iranian Law Research Guides

Foreign Law Guide: Iran. Marci Hoffman, General Ed., University of California, Berkeley Law Library. Describes the general sources of law and cites to specific laws on various subjects such as taxation. When you get the main Foreign Law Guide page, search for Iran. 

Guide to Law Online: Iran, Law Library of Congress. 

UPDATE: A Guide to the Legal System of the Islamic Republic of Iran (2011), GlobaLex by Omar Sial & Ershadul Karim.

UPDATE: An Overview of Iranian Legal System (2015), Globalex, by Maliheh Zare. 

Ireland

Irish Law Databases

Irish Law Research Guides

Guide to Irish Law, GlobaLex by Dr. Darius Whelan

Irish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KDK.

Israel

Israeli Law Databases

Israeli Law Research Guides

Isreali Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KMK.

Italy

Italian Law Databases

Italian Law Research Guides

Guide to Italian Legal Research and Resources on the Web, GlobaLex by Elio Fameli, Fiorenza Socci and Francesco Fameli

Italian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKH.

Japan

Databases/Websites

Research Guides

Japanese Law Via the Internet, GlobaLex by Makoto Ibusuki

Japanese Legal Research, University of Washington by Rob Britt (Basic Materials for Japanese Legal ResearchFinding Articles in Journals, Newspapers, and Edited VolumesFinding LawsFinding Cases, etc. in English and Japanese)

Lee, Zhang, Okuhara, & Ma, Issues and Trends in Collection Development for East Asian Legal Materials, 105 Law Library Journal 321 (2013). This article includes a survey of the main print and electronic sources for Korean, Japanese, and Chinese law.

Japanese Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNX.

Hanrei taikei [electronic resource] : Judicial information system
Covers cases from 1974-. Software for reading the CD-ROMs is installed in the Main Reading Room at a dedicated terminal. Check out the CD-ROMs at the Circ Desk. Search Julius to find the Call Number.

Horitsu hanrei bunken joho [electronic resource] = Current legal information Electronic annually-cumulated index to Japanese legal cases and articles published in a wide range of publications. Software for reading the CD-ROM is installed in the Main Reading Room at a dedicated terminal. Check out the CD-ROM at the Circ Desk. Search Julius to find the Call Number.

Kazakhstan

Kazakh Law Databases

Kazakh Law Research Guides

Korea (North & South)

Korean Law Databases

Korean Law Research Guides

Korean Legal Research, University of Washington

Overview of the North Korean Legal System and Legal Research, GlobaLex by Patricia Goedde

South Korean Law Research on the Internet, GlobaLex by Hyeon-Cheol Kim and Inyoung Cho

Lee, Zhang, Okuhara, & Ma, Issues and Trends in Collection Development for East Asian Legal Materials, 105 Law Library Journal 321 (2013). This article includes a survey of the main print and electronic sources for Korean, Japanese and Chinese law.

Korean Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning as follows: 

KPA : South Korea

KPC : North Korea

Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyz Law Websites & Databases

Kyrgyz Law Research Guides

L-P

L-P Jurisdictions Pages

This contains foreign legal research links for jurisdictions starting with the letters L through P:

Luxembourg

Luxembourg Law Databases

 

Luxembourg Law Research Guide

UPDATE: Luxembourg – Description of the Legal System and Legal Research, GlobaLex By Nicolas Henckes, 2009. July 2015 update by Laurence Raphael.



 

Malta

Maltese Law Databases

Mexico

Mexican Law Databases

Mexican Law Research Guides

An Electronic Guide to Mexican Law, GlobaLex by Francisco Avalos and Elisa Donnadieu

 

Mexican Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KGF.

Netherlands

Dutch Law Databases

Dutch Law Research Guides

Researching Dutch Law, GlobaLex by Oswald Jansen, George Middeldorp, Dorien Snoek and Henk Zonneveld

Dutch Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKM.

New Zealand

New Zealand Law Databases

New Zealand Law Research Guides

New Zealand Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KUQ.

Nigeria

Nigerian Law Websites & Databases

Nigerian Law Research Guides

Materials about Nigerian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KTA. 

Peru

Peruvian Law Databases

Peruvian Law Research Guides

Peruvian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHQ.

Philippines

Philippine Law Databases

Philippine Law Research Guides

Philippine Legal Research, GlobaLex by Milagros Santos-Ong

Philippine Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KPM.

Poland

Polish Law Databases

Polish Law Research Guides

An Overview of Polish Law, GlobaLex by Piotr Rakowski and Robert Rybicki

Polish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKP.

Portugal

Portuguese Law Databases

Portuguese Law Research Guides

Legal Research in Portugal, GlobaLex by Tiago Fidalgo de Freitas, José Caramelo Gomes and Sérgio Tomás

Portuguese Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKQ.

Q-Z

Q-Z Jurisdictions Pages

This contains foreign legal research links for jurisdictions starting with the letters Q through Z:

Romania

Romanian Law Databases

Romanian Law Research Guides

Doing Legal Research in Romania, GlobaLex by Dana Neacsu and Anamaria Corbescu

Performing Legal Research: the Moldovan Experience, GlobaLex by Svetlana Andritchi, Mariana Harjevschi and Ecaterina Eriju

Romanian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKR.

Russia

Russian Code in English

Russian Law Databases

Russian Law Research Guides

Russian Search Engines

Yandex-Web Searches .su, .ru and Russian servers. It does not have an English interface, but you can perform searches in English.

Zhurnal - an index of Russian search engines

Russian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KLB.

Singapore

Singapore Law Websites & Databases

Singapore Law Research Guides

Materials about Singapore Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KPP.

South Africa

South African Law Databases

South African Law Research Guides

Researching South African Law, GlobaLex by Amanda Barratt, Pamela Snyman and Redson Edward Kapindu

South African Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KTL.

Spain

Spanish Law Databases

Spanish Law Research Guides

Spanish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKT.

Switzerland

Swiss Law Databases

Swiss Law Research Guides

Swiss Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKW.

Sweden

Swedish Law Databases

Swedish Law Research Guides

Swedish Law and Legal Materials, GlobaLex by Ingrid Kabir and Sofia Sternberg

Swedish Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKV.

Taiwan

Taiwanese Law Databases

Taiwanese Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNP.

Thailand

Thai Law Websites & Databases

Thai Law Research Guides

Materials about Thai Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KPT.

Turkey

Turkish Law Databases

Turkish Law Research Guides

Ukraine

Ukrainian Law Databases

Ukrainian Law Research Guides

A Research Guide to Ukrainian Law, GlobaLex by Myroslava Kryvonos, Alexander Biryukov, Nazar Chernyavsky and Oleksandr Zelenyi 

Ukrainian Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKY.

United Arab Emirates

UAE Law Websites & Databases

UAE Law Research Guides

Uruguay

Databases/Websites

Research Guides

Uruguayan Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHU.

Uzbekistan

Uzbek Law Databases

Uzbek Law Research Guides

Venezuela

Venezuelan Law Databases

Venezuelan Law Research Guides

Venezuelan Law in the Library

Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KHW.

Zambia

Databases/Websites

Research Guides

Citation

Abbreviation dictionaries & citation manuals

Dictionaries

Print Dictionaries

Both language and law dictionaries. Links are to the Julius record. Alphabetical by language/country.

Bulgarian

Canada

Chinese

Dutch

  • Cassell (Dutch-English and English-Dutch)
  • Van Dale (English-Dutch only)

French

  • Cassell (French-English and English-French)
  • Larousse (French-English and English-French)

German

  • Cassell (German-English and English-German)

Hebrew

Italian

Japanese

Korean

  • Minjung (Korean-English and English-Korean)

Mexico

Polish

Portuguese

Romanian

  • Teora (Romanian-English only)

Russian

  • Bilodid (Russian-Ukranian only)
  • Katzner (Russian-English and English-Russian)
  • Müller (Russian-English and English-Russian)
  • Oxford (Russian-English and English-Russian)

Spanish

Swedish

  • Prisma (Swedish-English and English-Swedish)

Turkish

  • Langenscheidt (Turkish-English and English-Turkish)
  • Oxford (Turkish-English and English-Turkish)

Ukranian

  • Bilodid (Russian-Ukranian only)
  • Osvita (English-Ukranian only)

    

Language Learning

Electronic Dictionaries