This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2017
NOTE: Please, use Internet Explorer for Chinese databases!
- China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database/CNKI
The Library does not have a subscription. Search the database for citations and look for full text in Chinese Academic Journals (above).
- China Law & Practice
The printed publication is known as "Asia Law and Practice." Publishes news, a law digest, business law bulletins, archives, and lists of events. Online from 2002-.
- China Law Data (Law Data/Yue dan fa xue)
This full text Chinese legal database, in the Chinese vernacular, contains the laws and regulations, court decisions, major law journals, and reference materials for Taiwan. It also covers law- related journals of the Peoples Republic of China.
- Chinese Academic Journals
Search in English or Chinese. Abstracts and bibliographic citations in English (1994-). Full text available in Chinese via the CAJ Viewer (free download).
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation and administrative rules of China. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
- Internet Chinese Legal Research Center
Provides links to legal resources concerning Mainland China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan, as well as legal research guides and other information related to Chinese legal research.
Contains primary materials in English and Chinese, including statutes, regulations, cases, government policies, legal news, treatises, and law review articles. From the English interface, click any tab in Chinese to switch to the Chinese interface.
- Laws of the People's Republic of China - AsianLII
Chinese case law database. Vernacular.
- Lexis Advance
Includes selective coverage, from 1891 to the present, of Chinese laws, regulations, tax information, judicial decisions, and other legal documents, collected from government sources, and translated by LexisNexis China Online (COL) in Beijing.
- Supreme People's Court of the People's Republic of China
Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KNN and KNQ.