This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Mar 2, 2017
The resources on this page may provide the texts, summaries or citations of laws. Check each source to see which countries it covers. Language may be vernacular or English. If English is not an official language of the country, do not assume that an English text is authentic or official. This list is intended as a starting place and is not comprehensive. Please note that inclusion of a link to a website or to other material in this guide should not be interpreted as an endorsement of the accuracy or currency of the website or the material.
See also the sources listed under Getting Started in this guide.
- Bloomberg Law
All Content: Global Law. Limited content from Canada, EU, UK, Hong Kong, UAE, Cayman Islands, and Jersey.
- Case law/jurisprudence
- RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Offers full-text access to the tax and business laws of many jurisdictions in English. From the home page, click on the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries are arranged in alphabetic order.
- Doing Business Law Library
The largest free online collection of foreign business laws and regulations (banking and credit laws, civil procedure codes, bankruptcy and collaterals laws, commercial and company laws, labor laws, constitutions, etc). Laws sometimes in English, but often are in the vernacular.
- Droit Afrique
Website that contains business-oriented primary source legal materials for a variety of french-speaking African countries.
- Global Regulation, Global-Regulation, Inc.
Regulations, secondary legislation, technical standards.
- Islamic and Middle Eastern Law at the University of London
Covers primary sources, commentaries, legal rulings and suggested readings.
Juricaf is a Francophone database for researching case law in 42 countries. Developed with the help of the International Organisation of la Francophonie, Juricaf has for objective to help Supreme Courts in Africa to publish their case law.
Subscription includes access to law from South Africa, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Tanzania and Zambia.
CONTACT REFERENCE LIBRARIAN FOR PASSWORD. CLICK KEY FOR MORE INFORMATION.
Login Instructions: Click Login. Submit user name and password. Click Subscriber Access. Wait for browsable menu to load in left frame, or choose a search screen [it should say search FORM] from the dropdown menu.
- Lexis Advance, Explore Content, International
Primary law for these jurisdictions: South Africa, Australia, China & Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand, Russia, European Union, Ireland, United Kingdom, Canada, & Mexico
- Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia, 1984-2005, HeinOnline World Constitutions Illustrated
- Multi-jurisdictional e-Resources, NYU Law Library
- N-Lex, EUR-Lex, European Union
A common search form and gateway to databases on national law.
- NatLaw World, National Law Center for Inter-American Free Trade
- News, blogs...
Contain reports on recent developments and summaries or citations to new laws and cases.
The Southern African Legal Information Institute. Includes law from Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
- Subject-specific Sources
- United Nations Legislative Series
Each volume surveys materials on a topic in international law, including national laws. Best for historical research.
- vLex Global
- Westlaw, International Materials
Primary and/or secondary source materials for these jurisdictions: Barbados, Cayman Islands, China, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, Switzerland and Taiwan.
- World Constitutions Illustrated, HeinOnline
- WorldLII, World Legal Information Institute