Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: Citation

Melbourne University Law Review Association Inc., in collaboration with Melbourne Journal of International Law Inc.

With an article on your screen, click the Cite button above the table of contents to get the citation format for the article in these formats: Bluebook, OSCOLA, [McGill] Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation, Chicago, APA, and MLA.

The tables in the Bluebook provide abbreviations and full titles for U.S., non-U.S and international legal sources: Rules 20 (foreign) and 21(IGOs), Tables T2 (foreign), T3 (international), T4 (treaties), T5 (arbitration), T10 (geographical terms), T13 (words in periodical titles). Latest edition available at the Circulation Desk.

Covers abbreviations for English language legal publications from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law, and a wide selection of major foreign language law publications.

By Donald Raistrick. Covers publications from the UK, Ireland and the U.S., with some coverage of the countries of the EU, Europe, Africa, Asia, and South America.

Compiled by ILSA Journal of International and Comparative Law, International Law Students Association, Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center.
vol. 1: International Organizations
vol. 2: Europe
vol. 3: Latin America & Caribbean
vol. 4: Asia
vol. 5: North Africa & Middle East; Australia & Oceania
vol. 6: Africa (Sub-Saharan)

For Western European legal abbreviations. Aso includes links to other online legal abbreviation tools.

Alphabetical list of abbreviations for reporters. Provides full title, jurisdiction, dates, and some alternate citations.

Covers 45 countries, including Singapore, Sharia law and some international organizations and tribunals. For each country, it presents a Country Profile, titles of the major legal sources and citation/abbreviation as practiced in the jurisdiction.

There are also foreign language dictionaries and legal dictionaries at the Reference Desk.

By Mary Miles Prince. Dictionary of abbreviations used in legal literature in the U.S., U.K. and other jurisdictions. Also contains a reverse dictionary (from full title/word to abbreviation).

Click on Tools -> UCIA - Universal Citation in International Arbitration

Background on and description of the legal system and branches of government, suggested sources and citation formats, plus a list of other guides to the country's legal sources.

By Igor I. Kavass & Mary Miles Prince.